Saturday, March 24, 2012

First Rate Books To Read!

If you like my hiking stories, then here are some true story adventure books I've read and was thoroughly entertained by that you might also enjoy! ..................................................................................................................... 1-The High Adventure of Eric Rybak, or The Ultimate Journey,  Canada to Mexico by Eric Rybak. These stories were written by a young man who hiked the PCT (2,650 mile Pacific Crest Trail) by himself at age 18.  Then hiked the CDT (3,100 mile Continental Divide Trail) a couple of years later with his brother accompanying him part way.  And, he was the first to hike the "Triple Crown." The CDT (3,100 mile Continental Divide Trail), the PCT and the ADT (2,100 mile Appalachian Trail). These books are out of print, but I actually found one of his books on Amazon...his story of hiking the CDT!




.....................................................................................................................




2-Zero Days. Here's a true story of a family who hiked from Mexico to Canada along the Pacific Crest Trail! They manage to tell the story from all 3 viewpoints, Mom, Dad and 10 yr old daughter...and they pull it off delightfully well! Loved this book! .....................................................................................................................




3-Hiking the Continental Divide Trail. Another great read! This gal starts out hiking the 3,100 mile Continental Divide Trail with her husband. The CDT is a trail from Mexico to Canada along the Continental Divide that is only partially complete and therefore is considered the toughest of the long trails in the US. Her husband has to drop out midway due to foot problems and the author decides to finish her backpack journey alone! The CDT (Continental Divide Trail) is not clearly marked, very remote and very long....my hat is off to her...her amazing determination makes for a great story for us to enjoy! ..................................................................................................................... 4-Skywalker. Skywalker can tell a tale! Following Skywalker as he walks from Mexico to Canada is very entertaining and you won't be able to put his book down til the end!:) ..................................................................................................................... 5-Dances With Marmots. This author takes a leave of absence from the fire service in New Zealand to hike the Pacific Crest Trail...despite never having hiked before! He pulls it off...and shares his journey with us in an engaging and humorous and entertaining way! Must read! .................................................................................................................... 6-The Trail Home by Alfred Wohlpart. Alfred Wohlpart obviously wrote a journal as he traveled the PCT. But this is no “dry, dull, diary.” Wohlpart’s story is entertaining and engaging and written in present tense so that you get to take the walk with him as he hikes. Another great read…enjoy this one!:)

No comments:

Post a Comment